Alex’s story

When I left Ecuador I was happy and exited because I was to start a new life with my family. I was going to see my dad after three years of being on my own. My mom took care of the three of us, but my brother and sister we’re to young. When my dad left, being the oldest son, I took care of my brothers until my mom would feel well. It wasn’t easy for my mom to take care of us for the first year, she got depressed, she didn’t eat, or take care of her self until my dad called us and told my mom that she need to be stronger and take care of us and her self. She needed to become the father also, the chat that my dad had with my mom was very touching. She realized that, if she didn’t take the command, I wouldn’t be able to take care of everything and soon or later I will lose control of my brothers. Since that day she took the control, she keep us out of trouble and thing around were cool. Until one day my dad called and told my mom and me that we we’re going to live with him, and after we four came to the United States.

4 thoughts on “Alex’s story”

  1. Hardship sometimes is a gift that life offers to those people who will take more responsibilities and have higher achievements. Very good story!

  2. It must have been hard trying to take charge of your brothers Alex, you were just a kid yourself. You should be very proud of your accomplishments.

  3. Thats a lot of responsibilities you have. It must have been hard for you to take care of your mom and brothers as well.

    Dont feel bad because i did myself, but i didn’t have a father when i was growing up.

    Your a strong kid, and it shows. Now you know how to take care of yourself and your family. That is very important.

    Thank you for sharing your story with us.

Leave a Reply

